Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC) is an extremely serious crime in Michigan. Criminal Sexual Conduct charges are reserved for offenses involving sexual assault, rape, and sex with a minor.
If you are anyone else you know has been charged with CSC crimes in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th degree you need to contact an attorney right away.
CSC cases should always be handled by an experienced and aggressive defense lawyer.
We know how to protect you from aggressive police and prosecutors who will be working hard to build up a compelling case against you.
Criminal Sexual Conduct cases are perhaps the most difficult to defend in Michigan courts. Sadly, many jurors believe that anyone accused of criminal sexual conduct must be guilty. This is especially true if the victim is a minor. “Why would a child lie about something this horrible?” In our experience, we know that people do lie about being sexually assaulted and sometimes members of the family know it but will not say anything. Experts called by the prosecution believe if an accuser is consistent the assault and offers details about the assault that the victim was assaulted and that the defendant must be guilty.
The most serious of the Criminal Sexual Conduct charges are CSC 1st degree. This is a serious felony charge that can lead up to life in prison. If a person engages in sexual penetration with a person under the age of 13, or a person under the age of 16 if the two are related, in the same household or if the defendant is in a position of authority a CSC charge in the 1st degree with be brought against the defendant.
First degree criminal sexual conduct is punishable by up to life in prison. If a minor is involved, defendants convicted of this offense may face a mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years and lifetime electronic monitoring. All offenders convicted of CSC first degree will remain on the Michigan Sex Offender Registry for life, unless they qualify for early removal.
CSC 1st charges require a defendant to have an aggressive criminal defense lawyer representing him. We have the aggressive defense lawyers you need to fight criminal sexual conduct charges.
When choosing an attorney to defend you against serious charges with life-altering consequences such as prison, a client needs to have an attorney he can trust. CSC 1st charges require an attorney and client have a close working relationship with each other.
If a person engages in sexual contact but not penetration with a person under the age of 13, the person could be charged with a CSC 2nd degree charge.
A person could also be charged with Criminal Sexual Conduct in the second degree if:
It is important to understand what constitutes sexual contact. As opposed to sexual penetration, sexual contact does not include the insertion of a body part or item into another person’s body cavity. The definition of sexual contact is:
“Sexual contact” includes the intentional touching of the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts or the intentional touching of the clothing covering the immediate area of the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts, if that intentional touching can reasonably be construed as being for the purpose of (1) sexual arousal or gratification, (2) done for a sexual purpose, or (3) in a sexual manner for revenge, to inflict humiliation, or out of anger.
The maximum prison sentence for CSC in the second degree is 15 years. In addition, you will be electronically monitored for the rest of your life if the victim was under the age of 13, and you were over 17 at the time of the offense.
If a person has sex with a minor between 13 and 16 and uses force, coercion, or mental incapacity of the alleged victim to accomplish penetration, or if the alleged victim is between 16 and 18 and the defendant is a teacher or school employee he or she could face third-degree felony CSC charges.
Criminal Sexual Conduct in the third degree can be punished by up to 15 years in prison.
If contact without penetration occurs, misdemeanor CSC in the 4th degree charges could result. The maximum punishment for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the fourth degree is two years.
Attorney Shawn Haff
We are available by phone 24/7