Definition of Prostitution
The exchange of money for the performance of sexual acts is illegal in Michigan and called Prostitution. If you are facing prostitution charges in any West Michigan court, you are facing detrimental legal consequences, damage to your reputation and maybe a loss of employment. Because of these reasons, you need to call Shawn now at 616-438-6719 so he can help you fight your prostitution charge. If you are facing a prostitution charge or solicitation of prostitution charge, you have legal defenses and options that can create for you a strong defense. The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan knows how to help you create a strong defense.
PROSTITUTION OFFENSES: MISDEMEANOR AND FELONY
A Person who is 16 years or older who gets caught in the act of prostitution will be looking at criminal charges. A first offense prostitution charge is a misdemeanor. The maximum jail time is 93 days and you also face $500.00 fine. A second offense is also a misdemeanor charge. The maximum penalty is one year in jail and a fine of $1,000.00 maximum penalty of one year in jail, a $1000 fine. A third offense is a felony in Michigan. The maximum prison time is two years and the maximum fine is $2,000.00 and carries a maximum prison term of two years, a $2,000 fine.
PENALTIES FOR HIRING PROSTITUTES
A first-time offender for hiring prostitutes will face a misdemeanor charge. The penalty for this misdemeanor charge is 93 days in jail with a $500.00 fine. If you are hit with a second offense, you will face a misdemeanor charge again. This charge allows a judge to give you up to one year in jail and a $1,000.00 fine. A third offense is a felony charge and that carries up to two years in prison and a $2,000.00 fine.
MAINTAINING A HOUSE OF PROSTITUTION
The crime of maintaining a prostitution house is a felony. The maximum penalty a person can face is a carries a five-year prison sentence and fine of $2,500.
Transporting a person for prostitution, or if you compel a person to engage in this kind of criminal behavior, you are guilty of a felony crime. This felony carries a maximum 20-year prison sentence. You could also face federal charges for human trafficking.
If you are facing any of the charges listed above, you need to call Shawn now at 616-438-6719. The call is free, will you be?
It may be “the oldest profession,” but the reality of the situation is that it isn’t legal in 49 states. It is legal in some areas in Nevada. This crime can take the form of several different forms such as streetwalking to escort services, brothels or call-girl services. There are some differences. Various states describe the law in their own unique way across the United States. These statues are looked at, enforced and interpreted differently.
In the state of Michigan, if a person is offering, consenting to sexual conduct for payment or performing a sexual act for payment, they can be charged with prostitution. Solicitation is the act of sexual acts for payment. The customer and the prostitute can both be charged for this crime. The customer is also referred to a “John.” Solicitation does not require a sexual act be performed. It just requires two people have entered into an agreement for compensation for a sexual act and that some form of action, like running to the bank to get money to show the agreement is serious. Under Michigan law, pimping is also illegal. Pimping is the act of recruiting prostitutes. Pimping is also the act of setting up sexual services to be performed while making income from the earnings of the prostitute.
The laws on prostitution can change quickly without notice. If you have been charged for the crime of prostitution, you need to hire an aggressive attorney to defend your rights and make sure you get the best results possible. Call Shawn today at 616-438-6719 and let him put his professional expertise to work for you now! Don’t wait! Call Now!
Certain defenses can be used by people charged with prostitution. Below, you will find some of them. If you believe you can use one of the defenses listed below, be sure to contact The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan with this information.
No “knowing” conduct
Michigan law shows us that “knowing” is “having reasonable cause to believe.” This crime requires that a person knows a sexual act is being offered for payment. Simply hitting on another person in a bar is not a crime. Under Michigan law, a prosecutor must prove that the person knew the other person who going to performing the sex act was earning money for doing so.
No sexual conduct
If a sexual act has not taken place, there may be a defense to the charges of prostitution. However, if the prosecutor can show there was intent behind your actions this defense may not work at trial.
No fee for sexual conduct
If there is no agreement for payment of a sexual act, no crime has been committed. If someone has a string of lovers who are simply giving gifts, a crime has not been committed.
If you want to do some more research on prostitution laws, feel free to visit this link here.
Our Criminal Defense Lawyers in West Michigan Proudly Serve: Kent County, Ottawa County, Allegan County, Ionia County, Barry County, Berrien County, Mason County, Manistee County, Mecosta County, Oceana County, Muskegon County, Montcalm County, Newaygo County, Kalamazoo County, Lake County, Van Buren County, and the City of Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Our Grand Rapids Criminal Lawyers Also Proudly Serve The West Michigan Cities Of:Grand Rapids, Holland, Allendale, Wyoming, Kentwood, Grandville, Walker, Hudsonville, Grand Haven, Coopersville, Spring Lake, Ionia, Stanton, Hastings, White Cloud, Newaygo, Zeeland and Allegan.