Methamphetamine possession is one of the most serious drug possession charges under Michigan law. If you are found with possession of this drug, you can face an entire decade in prison. The stakes are high. The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan knows that this kind of drug charge is no joke and that you need a serious criminal defense law firm to help you fight your drug charges.
This possession charge is a felony charge. If you enter a plea of guilty to a possession of meth charge or are found guilty at trial, you will have a felony conviction on your record. Those who face these charges are scared, afraid they will have their life ruined. The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan knows how to guide you through these tough times.
Michigan has some extremely harsh laws regarding the delivery and manufacture of Methamphetamine. Michigan’s laws are also extremely tough regarding the operation or maintaining of a laboratory involving methamphetamine.
Methamphetamine possession is a felony that carries up to ten years in prison and fines up to $15,000. Even if you only have a little meth on you when you get arrested, you can still expect to face a meth possession charge. The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan will work hard to help you win your case or fight to get a sentence that will allow you to keep your record clean if you successfully complete probation.
Ephedrine and Pseudoephedrine laws:
You can find Ephedrine and Pseudoephedrine in common cold medications. These drugs are used a main ingredient in meth.
A person is not allowed to buy more than in a single day or no more than 9 grams during the course of the month. Anyone who is caught trying to do this is facing a misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in jail and a $500 dollar fine!
Possession of greater than 12 grams is a felony. This felony charge is punishable by 2 years of prison and a fine of $2,000.
A store that can legally sell a person 3.6 grams in a day or more than 9 grams in a month will face criminal charges if they violate these limits. Retailers are required to keep records of who they sell these medications to behind the counter or in a case that is locked.
A person who wishes to make a purchase is required to show a valid id and give their address and date of birth. The sale of these cold medications to a minor is illegal.
If the sale of ephedrine or pseudoephedrine through the use of the mail, internet, telephone, or other electronic means, a person is felony. A person will face up to four years in prison and a huge fine of $5,000.
The sale of ephedrine to a person minor is a misdemeanor. The maximum punishment is 93 days in jail.
Those who are charged with possession of meth are often addicted to the drug. The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan always tries to guide people who are addicted to drugs into counseling. We believe counseling helps!
Under Michigan law, drugs are classified in schedules. These schedules are based on what the legislature thinks is the potential for abuse and the severity of the damage the drug can cause. Under Michigan law, Meth is a Schedule 2 substance under the Federal Controlled Substance Act.
Meth is one of the most abused drugs today. It causes users to become profoundly addicted and has no medical value. People that use meth almost always suffer severe medical problems.
Since Meth has exploded as a popular drug in Michigan, our legislature has taken steps to reduce the availability of pseudoephedrine and ephedrine.
Attorney Shawn Haff
We are available by phone 24/7