If you have two prior OWI/DUI/Drunk Driving convictions on your record, you will likely be facing Felony DUI, OWI, Drunk Driving charges. Felony Drunk Driving charges will result in mandatory jail time if a defendant is convicted at trial or enters a guilty plea.
Because the stakes are so high, it is extremely important that you call Shawn at The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan if you are facing felony DUI, OWI, drunk driving charges in any West Michigan County.
As a third time Michigan DUI/OWI offender, the defendant will have an arraignment, a preliminary exam and pretrial conferences. If the case is bound over to circuit court via a Michigan preliminary examination or a waiver of the preliminary examination, a defendant will then be re-arraigned on felony charges in circuit court. West Michigan prosecutors take felony DUI, OWI, drunk driving cases very seriously. They will push for a tough sentence that could severely impact your life. Don’t face an aggressive West Michigan prosecutor without calling The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan first! We will give you a free consultation so you have nothing to lose by calling us!
A person facing a Michigan DUI, OWI third offense felony drunk driving charge is facing a mandatory jail term of 30 days with a maximum sentence of up to five years in prison. Attorney Shawn Haff of The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan will fight hard to get his clients to work release, house arrest and other alternatives to jail, but judges usually go with the mandatory jail sentence. If you are intoxicated or impaired by alcohol, you need
A felony drunk driving charge conviction means you will be ineligible for certain jobs and you will no longer be able to serve on a jury or vote. However, these felony drunk driving punishments are only the beginning for anyone who is charged with Felony Drunk Driving in West Michigan.
Besides possible jail or prison time, anyone convicted of a felony drunk driving charge will face up to $5,000 dollars in fines, mandatory driver responsibility fees of $1,000 for two years and up to 80 days of community service. The state may take your vehicle away from you and will immobilize your vehicle for up to three years. Your driving privilege will be taken from you for at least a year and maybe the rest of your life. In the state of Michigan, driving is a privilege and not a right.
A person may also be charged with Felony DUI when the actions caused
The maximum penalty for a Felony DUI, OWI, Drunk Driving charge that results in serious bodily injury to another person is five years in prison. If the defendant is charged with Felony DUI that results in the death of another person the maximum penalty is 15 years in prison. If the Felony DUI charge results in the death of a police officer, the maximum penalty is 20 years in prison.
Simply showing up to court and rolling with the punches will not work in any felony DUI, OWI, drunk driving case. Sadly, too many people find themselves in more trouble than they should be because they are fighting a losing battle when there is a lack of strategy on representation regarding their felony drunk driving charge.
The key to any drunk driving defense is to have a deep understanding of the methods and practices of the police in a drunk driving arrest. Further, defense expert witnesses are vital in most drunk driving trials. Finally, a cohesive plan of an understandable defense explained to the jury is vital to winning. The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan has the experience you need to fight your felony drunk driving charges in all West Michigan courts.
Attorney Shawn Haff
We are available by phone 24/7