If you get pulled over too many times for speeding, drunk driving or failing to stop at a traffic light, you are in danger of getting your driver’s license suspended! Traffic tickets can lead to getting your driving privileges taken away or restricted.
According to the law in Michigan, there are traffic offenses that automatically result in the revocation or suspension of an individual’s license. The most common one is DUI/OWI/Drunk driving convictions. A conviction for a misdemeanor charge of leaving the scene of an accident will also cause you to have your license suspended.
Thankfully, most other traffic offenses do not result in getting your license suspended. Each offense is assigned a number of points that go on your driving record. The points are assigned based on how severe the State of Michigan views the offense. The more severe the offense the higher the number of points. The more points a person piles up, the Michigan Secretary of State will take escalating steps against your driver’s license. Eventually, this will lead to a suspension of your driving privileges. If you have any questions regarding Michigan traffic ticket law, please contact Shawn today at 616-438-6719.
Infractions and Points
Below, is a list of numerous traffic violations and the number of points that each of these infractions carries with them.
Reckless Driving – 6 points
Drunk Driving – 6 points
Vehicular manslaughter – 6 points
Refusal to take chemical test – 6 points
Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content – 4 points
Speeding at over 16 mph or more over the limit – 4 points
Failure to yield or show due caution for an ambulance or fire truck – 4 points
Operating While Visibly Impaired — 4 points
Disobeying a traffic sign or stop signal – 3 points
Careless driving – 3 points
Speeding between 11 and 15 miles per hour over the limit – 3 points
Improper passing – 3 points
Driving with an open container of alcohol – 2 points
Speeding up to ten miles per hour over the limit – 2 points
Speeding up to five miles per hour over the limit –1 point
How Many Michigan Speeding Ticket Points Can I Get Before My Driver’s License Is Suspended?
If you happen to get 4 points on your driving record within a two-year period, you will get a letter from the Secretary of State. This letter will tell you that you have a high-than-average number of total points on your driving record. If you get 8 points on your record, you will get another letter telling you that you will get a suspension if you continue to rack up more points on your driving record. After you get 12 points on your record, the SOS will give you an order that you report in for a driver reexamination. This examination will include a review of your driving record, test your knowledge of traffic safety laws in Michigan, test your eyesight and a driving test to be taken from behind the wheel.
If you knock it out of the park when it comes to your tests, you may not have your license suspended. The SOS will also consider the nature of your offenses. The most likely outcome of these tests and the examination of your record is that you will have a restricted, revoked or suspended license. Once this happens, you will see a massive increase in your car insurance rates. The insurance company will quickly find out about all those points you have added onto your driving record. The high amount of points you have added onto your driving record will be used as an excuse to raise your rates because this evidence suggests you are a high risk of being involved or causing an automobile accident.
How Long Do These Points Stay On My Record?
The Secretary of State in Michigan has no authority under law to remove points from a person’s driving record prematurely. The law does not allow you to have a traffic ticket conviction set aside. This means that any traffic ticket conviction will stay on your record for two years! The two-year time period starts from the moment your conviction is officially entered on the record. The points from each moving violation you get stay on your record for a full two years.
Information Found On A Speeding Ticket
Anyone who gets pulled over for speeding in Michigan will probably be given a speeding ticket. If you get lucky, you maybe given only a warning. The ticket will have important information on it about your charge. It will clearly state the charges you are facing. It should have included on it information about the specific penalties you are facing. If you have a date to appear in court, that will also be on your ticket. The ticket will tell you what courthouse you need to go to and how much time you have to either pay the fines and court costs. It will also give you the amount of time you have to appeal the ticket. If you appeal the ticket, you will have a hearing in front of a magistrate. If you lose and want to appeal that ruling, you will have a hearing in front of the local district court judge.
Cost of Speeding Ticket
Under Michigan law, the fines and costs for speeding and determined by the local district you were pulled over at. There is no set fine mandated in Michigan. Please be sure to refer to your ticket in order to figure out how much you will owe. If the ticket does not list this information, be sure to call the courthouse listed on your ticket to verify this information.
The cost of fines will vary a bit and remember each district will probably add other costs to your fine. In some districts, the court costs are more expensive than the fines. Here is a general ballpark figure of how much your fines will be:
- $90 for speeding 1-5 miles per hour over the speed limit.
- $95 for failure to signal.
- $100 for an improper U-turn.
- $180 for failure to stop for a school bus.
- $155 for speeding 26 miles per hour over the speed limit.
If you have any questions about Michigan speeding ticket points or have other questions about civil infractions related to driving please call Shawn today at 616-438-6719. The call is free, so you have nothing to lose!