Criminal Defense Law Center
West Michigan

Michigan's Drug Laws are really tough. Do not face these charges alone!

Michigan Drug Laws

What state has some of the toughest laws on drugs? Look no further than Michigan! If you or anyone you know is facing a drug-related criminal charge, you can expect to face some serious consequences.

Michigan drug laws are organized into schedules. This makes things easier for the prosecutor and the judge when it comes to prosecuting and sentencing. The length of prison time depends on two factors: the controlled substance a defendant gets busted with and the amount of drugs caught on the defendant.

Schedule I Substances

Schedule I drugs are those that have a high risk for abuse and have no medical purpose. Here are some examples:

Schedule II Substances

Schedule II drugs are those that have a high risk for abuse but have a medical purpose and they are approved for use in the United States.  Some examples are:

  • Cocaine
  • Morphine
  • Opium
  • Oxycodone
  • Hydrocodone
  • Methadone

Schedule III Substances

Schedule III drugs have a risk of dependency that is lower than those on the two schedules listed Like the drugs on Schedule II, these substances have medical uses. Some examples are:

  • Morphine (lower potency)
  • Ketamine (anabolic steroids)
  • Hydrocodone with aspirin or acetaminophen

Schedule IV Substances

Schedule IV drugs have a risk of dependency that is considered low risk.  The chance of getting addicted is considered lower than the substances listed above.  Common examples are:

  • Rohypnol
  • Valium
  • Xanax

Schedule V Substances

The drugs in this schedule are considered ones that are at very low risk of abuse. These substances are ones that you can buy over the counter:

  • Cold medicine with ephedrine
  • Cough syrups with Codeine

Michigan Penalties – Possession of a Controlled Substance

If you are found to be in possession of drugs under Schedule I or II, these are the penalties you will be facing:

  • More than 1,000 grams (felony)  – Life in prison and fines up to one million dollars.
  • Between 450- 1,000 grams (felony) – Up to 30 years in prison and $500,000 in fines.
  • Between 50- 450 grams (felony) – Up to 20 years in prison and $250,000 in fines.
  • Between 25-50 grams (felony) – Up to 4 years in prison and $25,000 in fines

Michigan Penalties – Possession of a Controlled Substance​

Under the laws of the State of Michigan regarding drugs, possession of Meth or Ecstasy is a Michigan drug crime that can result in prison time of up to ten years.

Mandatory Life Sentence for Repeat Drug Possession Offenders

If you get busted for a second offense of possession or distributing a Schedule I or II substance where the amount is over 50 grams, you will be sent to prison for life. This is a harsh law and certainly one you don’t want to face without a good lawyer by your side.

Call Shawn today at 616-438-6719 for a free case strategy session! Shawn will go over every detail of your case, ease your fears, and never stop fighting for you in court. Do not go to court Shawn by your side!

Get A Free Case Strategy Session