If you are under the age of 21 and are drinking and driving, you need to be aware of Michigan’s zero-tolerance law for underage dui. The legal drinking age in Michigan is 21 years old, but we all know that many people drink alcohol under the age of 21.
Michigan’s zero-tolerance law for underage dui is a tough law that can hammer you with jail time, heavy fines and a loss of your driving privileges.
Definition of Zero Tolerance And Penalties
A person who is under the age of 21 and has a BAC of over .02 is guilty of a misdemeanor crime. The first conviction of this DUI offense is a $250.00 dollar fine and up to 360 hours of community service. A person convicted of this crime will face having their driver’s license restricted for 30 days and 4 points added to their driving record. Thankfully, the driver responsibility fee was done away with in October of 2018.
If you are convicted of breaking Michigan’s zero-tolerance law for underage DUI a second time within 7 years, the penalties get a lot tougher. You are facing a $500 dollar fine and up to 60 hours of community service. There is a potential of 93 days in jail. There will be four points added to your record. Your license can also be revoked as well.
Do not face these charges alone! Call Shawn today at 616-438-6719 for a free consultation and let him help you get the best results possible!
Our Criminal Defense Lawyers in West Michigan Proudly Serve: Kent County, Ottawa County, Allegan County, Ionia County, Barry County, Berrien County, Mason County, Manistee County, Mecosta County, Oceana County, Muskegon County, Montcalm County, Newaygo County, Kalamazoo County, Lake County, Van Buren County, and the City of Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Our Grand Rapids Criminal Lawyers Also Proudly Serve The West Michigan Cities Of: Grand Rapids, Holland, Allendale, Wyoming, Kentwood, Grandville, Walker, Hudsonville, Grand Haven, Coopersville, Spring Lake, Ionia, Hastings, Stanton, Newaygo, White Cloud, Zeeland and Allegan.