Attorney Shawn James Haff of The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan hates seeing people fail their probation. If you have been convicted of a crime and fail to complete your probation you face serious consequences. You may be put in jail, prison and having a criminal record.  Here are the most common five reasons people fail probation.

If you are placed on probation, you are most certainly going to be told to avoid alcohol and drugs. This includes marijuana.  Yes, I am aware it is legal for adults to use marijuana now, but it is also legal for people over the age of 21 to drink alcohol and alcohol use is almost always prohibited.

Here Are Five Reasons People Fail Probation.

  1. Getting caught using drugs or alcohol while on probation.
  2. Missing your probation meetings or showing up late. Do not be late or miss your meetings!
  3. Not completing community service or work crew.
  4. Not completing counseling
  5. New criminal charges or arrests

Just being charged with a new crime is grounds for your probation officer to revoke your probation, but there are some probation officers that will not do anything until a person is formally convicted of a new crime. A person can be ordered to complete a lot of community service while on probation. Make sure you keep track of your hours and get your place of service approved by your probation officer.

If you are charged for violating your probation, give Shawn a call today at 616-438-6719. The call is free! So give Shawn a call now!

Our Criminal Defense Lawyers in West Michigan Proudly Serve: Kent County, Ottawa County, Allegan County, Ionia County, Barry County, Berrien County, Mason County, Manistee County, Mecosta County, Oceana County, Muskegon County, Montcalm County, Newaygo County, Kalamazoo County, Lake County, Van Buren County, and the City of Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Our Grand Rapids Criminal Lawyers Also Proudly Serve The West Michigan Cities Of: Grand Rapids, Holland, Allendale, Wyoming, Kentwood, Grandville, Walker, Hudsonville, Grand Haven, Coopersville, Spring Lake, Ionia, Hastings, Stanton, Newaygo, White Cloud, Zeeland and Allegan.