Our Aggressive Defense Lawyers Can Help You Handle Your Charges For Domestic Violence.
If you have engaged in assault behavior towards the following people you could be facing domestic violence charges:
- Spouse (present or former) of the defendant
- Person(s) in a dating relationship with the defendant
- Persons(s) sharing a child with the defendant
- Resident(s) of the defendant’s household
Local prosecutors take these charges very seriously and you should contact Shawn now at 616-438-6719 to help you battle the charges for domestic violence that you are facing. Shawn has the lawyers you need to win your case or get you the best results possible.
Domestic Violence Charges West Michigan
As found in Michigan state law, a domestic violence charge is described as an assault or battery by a person (or persons) in one of the relationships found above. Domestic abuse has two different forms.
Domestic Assault (Michigan Penal Code 750.81)
In domestic assault cases, the person who is the victim of the assault does not need to be injured. A person charged with domestic assault is facing jail time and a violent criminal record. It is extremely important you call Shawn at 616-438-6719 to help you with these charges.
The penalties in West Michigan courts for this charge are listed below:
- Jail time of up to 93 days and a $500 fine
- On a second conviction, up to one year in jail and a $1,000. fine
- On a third conviction, up to two years in prison and a $2,500 fine.
- 1st Conviction (misdemeanor): Jail time not exceeding 93 days and/or a $500 fine
- 2nd Conviction (misdemeanor): Jail time not exceeding one year and/or $1,000 fine
- 3rd Conviction (felony): Up to two years jail time and/or $2,500 fine. This charge is a felony.
Aggravated Domestic Assault (Michigan Penal Code 750.81a)
A person can face an aggravated domestic violence charge when their victim has been given aggravated or serious injuries that need the attention of a medical professional.
Michigan has criminal penalties for aggravated assault are as follows:
- 1st Conviction (misdemeanor): Jail time of up to 1 year and a $1,000 fine
- 2nd Conviction (felony): Up to two years in prison and a $2,500 fine
If you have been charged with aggravated assault, let our team exceptional lawyers at The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan help get you the best results possible.
Let The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan Get You Outstanding Results.
Charges for domestic violence can ruin a person’s life. You are not able to get this charge removed from your record until at least five years after the conviction. Attorney Shawn James Haff knows how to help keep his clients out of jail and how to help them keep this conviction off record. Attorney Shawn Haff has extensive experience in helping people charged with these charges. The Criminal Defense Law Center of West Michigan knows the tactics someone charged with domestic violence needs to take in order to get the best results possible. Call Shawn today at 616-438-6719. The Call is free and Shawn can take your call 24/7.