Methamphetamine Laws in Michigan

Michigan has some extremely harsh laws regarding the delivery and manufacture of Methamphetamine.  Michigan’s laws are also extremely tough regarding the operation or maintaining of a laboratory involving methamphetamine.  The article will go over the maximum punishments for these laws and what to do if you get arrested on any charge relating to methamphetamine.

According to MCL 333.7401c(2)(f) which is titled, controlled substance – operating/maintaining laboratory involving methamphetamine —  a person who did own, possess or use a vehicle, building, structure, place, or area that he or she knew or had reason to know was to be used or was intended to be used as a location to manufacture methamphetamine is guilty of a felony that is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.  Defendants are sometimes puzzled that they are charged with this crime when they busted with Meth and components used to make Meth in their car.  However, at the statue makes clear, a “vehicle” can be considered a laboratory.

 

According to MCL 333.7401(2)(b)(i), which is titled, controlled substance —  delivery/manufacture  — methamphetamine/ecstasy – a person who did possess with intent to deliver the controlled substance methamphetamine is guilty of a 20 year felony and a $25,000 fine.  A person doesn’t actually have to have the methamphetamine on them to be charged with this tough felony.  They could merely be in a car with methamphetamine and be charged for possession.

Prosecutor’s in Michigan take methamphetamine charges extremely seriously.  Judges punish people harshly when they plead guilty or are convicted by a jury of their peers to any charge related to methamphetamine.  If a person is convicted of two or more drug charges at the same time, the person must be given consecutive sentences.  This means a person convicted of two counts of delivery of methamphetamine  and is sentenced to 7 years for both counts will end up serving 14 years in prison!  Normally, under concurrent sentencing, a person convicted of two counts and given seven years for each sentence will only get seven years in prison.

Anyone who gets arrested for any methamphetamine charges must hire an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney to represent them.  Their liberty is at stake!  The state will pull out all their guns to go for a conviction and will try to hammer a defendant will maximum prison time at sentencing if the defendant pleas or is found guilty at trial.  If you are looking for good criminal defense attorneys,  ask them “how many cases have you handled regarding methamphetamine?”  Another important question to ask “is criminal defense all you practice as an attorney?”  Do you really want to hire someone who is a jack of all trades instead of someone who only focuses on criminal defense?  Never hire a public defender as you have no idea what kind of customer service you might get because of their busy schedule.  After you do your homework on defense attorneys, hire the you feel most comfortable dealing with.

Our Criminal Defense Lawyers in West Michigan Proudly Serve: Kent County, Ottawa County, Allegan County, Ionia County, Barry County, Berrien County, Mason County, Manistee County, Mecosta County, Oceana County, Muskegon County, Montcalm County, Newaygo County, Kalamazoo County, Lake County, Van Buren County, and the City of Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Our Grand Rapids Criminal Lawyers Also Proudly Serve The West Michigan Cities Of: Grand Rapids, Holland, Allendale, Wyoming, Kentwood, Grandville, Walker, Hudsonville, Grand Haven, Coopersville, Spring Lake, Ionia, Hastings, Stanton, Newaygo, White Cloud, Zeeland and Allegan.