Failure to stop at the scene of an accident, better known as hit and run, is a traffic criminal offense in all Michigan courtrooms. The penalties for this charge depend on the injury or damage that has happened due to the accident. Anytime you have reason to know you were in an accident, you must stop and you must remain at the scene of the accident. It does not matter if the accident takes place on public or private property. A hit and run accident is a crime. You are required by law to stop and remain there until the requirements of the law are met.
The requirements are as follows:
- Give your name and address, the registration number of the vehicle you are operating to a police officer or the driver.
- You must show your driver’s license to a police officer or the driver
- You must render assistance and medical aid to anyone who is injured in the accident.
While on the side of the road, you should take all steps necessary to make sure that your car is not obstructing traffic.
You can be charged with a felony if you fail to follow the law requirements above and your accident results in a serious impairment of a body function. This felony is punishable by up to 5 years in prison a fine of up to $5,000. If the accident you cause with your automobile from not following the law above cause a death, you will be guilty of a 15-year felony. The fine you could be hammered with is up to 10,000 dollars.
If you cause an accident that results in damage to a vehicle, you could only be guilty of a misdemeanor. This charge is only punishable by 90 days in jail and a $100 fine.
The implications of your accident carry more than just criminal charges, incarceration or fines. You also are facing driver’s license sanctions from the Michigan Secretary of State once you have a criminal conviction. The punishments from the Secretary of State range from revocation of your license to a 90-day suspension and sometimes no suspension or revocation at all. You will receive six points on your license for failing to stop at an accident.
If you are facing any criminal charge related to leaving the scene of an accident, you need to call Shawn asap at 616-438-6719. The call is free! Shawn will be happy to answer any questions you may have and will work hard to get you results!
Our Criminal Defense Lawyers in West Michigan Proudly Serve: Kent County, Ottawa County, Allegan County, Ionia County, Barry County, Berrien County, Mason County, Manistee County, Mecosta County, Oceana County, Muskegon County, Montcalm County, Newaygo County, Kalamazoo County, Lake County, Van Buren County, and the City of Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Our Grand Rapids Criminal Lawyers Also Proudly Serve The West Michigan Cities Of: Grand Rapids, Holland, Allendale, Wyoming, Kentwood, Grandville, Walker, Hudsonville, Grand Haven, Coopersville, Spring Lake, Ionia, Stanton, Hastings, Newaygo, White Cloud, Zeeland and Allegan.