DUI Costs Can Cost You $10,000!
DUI costs can add up in a hurry. I have seen numerous ads on tv and billboards all around Michigan that give a solemn warning to people about dui costs. The ads warned people that dui costs are around $10,000. Lets talk about some of the reasons behind dui costs. I want to take a current look at some of the real expenses involved for a dui charge in West Michigan courts. There is always talk about cracking down on dui’s. The government stands to make a lot of money off of them. Let’s talk about how much you can expect to pay for a dui lawyer.
The first thing we need to consider when deciding how much dui costs are is exactly what charge are you facing. Are you facing a fist offense? A second offense? A third offense or a high bac charge? A first offense dui may end up costing you a lot more than a second because of increased insurance premiums. Unless you go through sobriety court, a person busted for a second offense dui will end up losing their driver’s license. Ergo, there will be no increase to pay regarding insurance on your vehicle.
If you are charged with a high bac, the case will likely be handled by a state prosecutor. Some local cities are starting to pass laws that allow them to prosecute high bac cases. The only reason I can think this is happening is that these local communities want their slice of the money pie. Thankfully, a lot of the high bac cases I handle get worked out so my clients will get a lesser charge. You could end up paying thousands of dollars more for a high bac case.
For all DUI cases, the law provides that fines, costs, crime victim rights fees, judgment fees and probation fees are to be given out at sentencing. The average costs of the total fees various but here is an average you can expect to pay in local West Michigan courts.
- 1st offense dui $850 to $1,600.
- High BAC $1,100 to $1,700
- 2nd offense DUI $1,500 to $2,20
I didn’t list 3rd offense dui cases because these cases are felonies. Circuit court probation is more costly and longer so the expenses are higher.
DUI costs can also include “cost recovery” local ordinances. You will get this bill from the city of the local police department responsible for your arrest. They will charge you for the officer’s time in arresting you and for their time processing you. The cost of these fees range from $150 to $400.
As you can see from the above-listed evidence, a dui cost is high and the amount of money you pay for a dui will be in the thousands of dollars. With my guidance, I can help you make your DUI a learning experience, something where you end up being a better person.
If you are arrested for a DUI, call Shawn today at 616-438-6719!
My Criminal Defense Lawyers in West Michigan Proudly Serve: Kent County, Ottawa County, Allegan County, Ionia County, Barry County, Berrien County, Mason County, Manistee County, Mecosta County, Oceana County, Muskegon County, Montcalm County, Newaygo County, Kalamazoo County, Lake County, Van Buren County, and the City of Grand Rapids, Michigan.
My Grand Rapids Criminal Lawyers Also Proudly Serve The West Michigan Cities Of: Grand Rapids, Holland, Allendale, Wyoming, Kentwood, Grandville, Walker, Hudsonville, Grand Haven, Coopersville, Spring Lake, Ionia, White Cloud, Newaygo, Hastings, Stanton, Zeeland and Allegan.